Record Details

Catalog Search

A cow hunter's lament and other stories : a western collection  Cover Image Book Book

A cow hunter's lament and other stories : a western collection / Larry D Sweazy.

Sweazy, Larry D., (author.).


"Award-winning novelist Larry D. Sweazy's first published short story collection features eleven western stories, including a new short story, "A Cow Hunter's Lament." Three of the stories, "Rattlesnakes and Skunks," "Lost Mountain Pass," and "Shadow of the Crow," are origin stories for Sweazy's series characters Josiah Wolfe, Trusty Dawson, and Sonny Burton. The stories are traditional westerns with a few that have underlying mysteries, as well as two that have supernatural elements, all written in Sweazy's signature atmospheric style. All of the stories feature western characters challenged by the landscape and loneliness they exist in, overcoming adversity, with a respect for history, along with plenty of expected action"-- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781432897857
  • Physical Description: 257 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: Waterville, Me. : Five Star, A part of Gale, a Cenage Company, 2023.
Genre: Western fiction.
Short stories.

Available copies

  • 4 of 7 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Carthage Public.


  • 1 current hold with 7 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Carthage Public Library FIC Sweazy, Larry Western (Text) 34MO2001814498 Western Available -

Additional Resources